IMPENDING DISMAY AND INCREASING DELIGHT

Brexit has done its best to occupy my mind this week and I have been involved in one or two discussions which came perilously close to arguments. I have been reading a book about the rise in national populism which made me realise that whilst I understood why Brexiteers are so passionate I did not understand why Remainers were so equally passionate. With that in mind I posted a comment on Facebook to various friends at MMU and also put it on the Brightspace Facebook page.

“Professors Eatwell and Goodwin offer 4 reasons for the rise in populism in their 2018 book National Populism: The Revolt Against Liberal Democracy. These are

1. A fear about the loss of historic identity and established way of life
2. Relative deprivation as inequality of wealth and income rises
3. A distrust of politicians and loss of voice
4. The breaking down of political systems.

They intimate that BREXIT is one manifestation of the rise in populism.

I have spent the majority of my life working as a professional – accountant then university lecturer – whilst returning home to a blue collar, working class family. It is fairly safe to say, bar 1 or 2 exceptions, there is clean split in the way these two groups voted in the EU Referendum; academics wanted to Remain, my family and friends to Leave. The reasons for leaving seem to correlate mostly with reasons 1 and 3 above with some influence from reason 2.

What isn’t clear to me is why Remainers are so passionate about remaining. I am retired now so I can’t ask my former colleagues directly, and when I worked with them it seemed they just felt it was obviously the best course of action. But why? What reasons are offered for this passion. I think it’s important we all understand each other’s reasons because BREXIT is tearing a hole in our society and we need to fix it whatever the outcome.

I would appreciate any comments.”

Maybe I’ll find some understanding in the responses.

Other more personal highlights are basically related to singing and my ever deepening interest in music. Again I took to Facebook and wrote of Friday night

Music school party last night. All learners invited to go on stage individually to play a piece or sing a song in front of peers and their families. Keyboards, guitars, clarinets and lots of voices were all represented. I sang Colours of the Wind from Pocahontas – my favourite song. Never been so nervous, no karaoke prompt, just you and the music. Just relaxed into the song in the end and am now glad to have done it.

And of Thursday night.

Just taken part in my first choir performance. We were the interlude ‘act’ at the Spilsby & District Schools Music Festival 2019 now in its 70th year. It was brilliant; 200 children from about a dozen local primary schools (they are very small round here often 2 age groups in the same class) gathered in the pews of a local church singing their hearts out whilst their parents watched from the balcony above. The fun and enthusiasm boiled over and spilled into everyone’s hearts. We sang Rhythm of Life and the theme to The Vicar of Dibley. Real contrasts, first at full pelt, second actually a psalm. Was a great experience.

I have also acquired a 61 key electric keyboard to explore sounds more deeply. Adding Thank you For the Music to my karaoke songs. I have always enjoyed singing and listening to music but now I have time to explore more deeply.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment